Britchot

DCS Summer Sale

I keep wanting to get into DCS but man,  it's like you need to spend the same amount of time and commitment as a military pilot to learn some of these things.  I just don't have that type of time, at least with a WWI or WWII bird I can hop in and do it.  I'd have to pick one modern plane and learn it.  I can't decide if that is the F-14 or the eventual F-16.   I'm a fighter pilot at heart, so do I want the best long range AA missile or the best thrust-weight ratio (and sexiest airframe)?

Buying the Persian Gulf map on sale, though.  I'll tool around Abu Dhabi in a Huey for kicks. 

PG map is amazing and opens up a lot of online options.

After last night’s practice in the Harrier, it really is best to have a favorite and stick with it. I had forgotten so much in the last few months. Didn’t help I had a corrupted file, either. But man, I couldn’t even input a waypoint!  

Yeah, PG is the map that echoes real world operations these days.  I think I'm going to wait for the F-16 or maybe if the F-14 goes on sale in the fall/winter I'll pick that up.  Though, the F-16 wouldn't let me do Carrier ops.  Goddammit DCS why are you so expensive and yet so good?

Does anybody here have Combined Arms?

I bought the Mi-8 in the hope that it might be a helpful learning tool for the upcoming Mi-24 (which is going to be a day one purchase for me). The Farmer and Albatros are next on my list, I might buy them during the Autumn sale. 

4 hours ago, Britchot said:

I absolutely love the Mi-8! I was an OPFOR door gunner in one back in the '90s, during a training event.... 

Wow, really?  How does life lead you into an opportunity like that?  VERY few could claim the same.  Perhaps you worked at the NTC near 29 Palms or Fort Irwin?

2 hours ago, Luftritter said:

Wow, really?  How does life lead you into an opportunity like that?  VERY few could claim the same.  Perhaps you worked at the NTC near 29 Palms or Fort Irwin?